Ingredients: Potatoes, vegetable oils (sunflower, cottonseed, soybean and/or canola), salt, potato flour, spices, natural flavor, dextrose, disodium dihydrogen, pyrophosphate, annatto (vegetable color). Are French Fries Vegan? It’s up to you to decide where you stand on that controversial ingredient. Outback Steakhouse does not offer vegan fries as it cooks them in animal based oil. Seasoned with garlic, cumin, and paprika and made in the oven or air fryer for a healthy French fry. That's right, Burger King French fries are made in vegetable oil and totally vegan-friendly. Easy turnip fries make a healthy and low carb alternative to your typical potato French fries. Newsflash! My latest fry obsession are these Rosemary Garlic Fries. This keeps the calories and fat down, but still delivers a tasty french fry. All these frozen breakfast items are vegan: Although there were a range of reasons for fries not being suitable for a vegan diet, the main causes were: 5Guys offers handcrafted burgers and fries with over 1500 locations worldwide. Ingredients: potatoes, salt and cottonseed oil. The Nacho Fries themselves are both vegetarian and vegan, but the dipping cheese that it is served with is obviously not vegan. We Did The Research, check out our research on the ultimate electric potato peelers, What Does Pheasant Taste Like? We use just enough oil to coat the fries and make the spices stick. Sugar is vegan, unless it’s filtered though bone charcoal, which some brands are. ... is not refined using bone char from animal bones. French fries are one of the few things in restaurants (fast food or otherwise) that are typically vegan. There is not much that can be consumed by a vegan at this establishment. They offer vegan fries and an impressive looking ingredients list as you can see below. But whether or not they’re vegan-friendly is a grey-er issue. (Complete List). Write CSS OR LESS and hit save. Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. PETA cautions consumers that not every one of these is vegan using the example of the French fries of fast-food chain McDonald’s. These Vegan French Fries are made with very little oil, but they taste delicious. Burger King doesn’t post their full french fry ingredients, but according to their allergen guide the french fries contain no egg, fish, milk, peanuts, soy, tree nuts, or wheat. They are also fried in the same fryer as the chicken wings. (Maybe, but Probably Not…), Are KIND Granola Bars and Products Vegan? Remove fries from the oven, season with more salt and pepper to taste before serving them with your favorite ketchup or sauce. Like Burger King’s fries, these may also have palm oil in them. Whether it’s for french fries, baked potatoes or mash. Which French fries are vegan? For an easy and delicious side, try Great Value Crinkle Cut French Fried Potatoes. French Fries bags contains 93 calories or less. They cannot guarantee no cross contact of allergens and therefore claim all ingredients cooked in any fryer contain shellfish, fish, wheat, eggs, milk and soy. Buffalo Wild Wings do not offer vegan fries as they use beef shortening in their fryers. No wonder he got fat since 50% of the calories came from fat. We don’t know for sure if Freddy’s French Fries are vegan. Some consider Burger King’s french fries to be vegan, but strict vegans may not because of the palm oil and since the fries are cooked in the same oil as other products that contain milk. First, obviously cheese fries are not vegan, we’re only looking at the plain fries. We were unable to find their ingredients list though. CTRL + SPACE for auto-complete. Cuisinevault.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. But, we do know that the fries are cooked in the same oil used to cook chicken products, which may be an issue for some. FRIED IN: Vegetable Oil (Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil with TBHQ and Citric Acid to protect flavor, Dimethylpolysiloxane (as an antifoaming agent)). The fries are advertised nationally at $1, which is pretty good value, but every franchise I’ve visited has sold them for $1.39. *Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients. Ingredients: Potatoes, Canola and Palm Oil, Modified Food Starch (Potato, Corn, Tapioca), Rice, Flour, Dextrin, Salt, Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum. Not only do the offer vegan fries, but their ingredients list was one of the best on the list without all the extra stuff that so many other restaurants seem to include. They serve up vegan fries. Personalized health review for Great Value French Fried Potatoes, Crinkle Cut: 120 calories, nutrition grade (B), problematic ingredients, and more. Dairy Queen Even if you aren't a vegetarian or vegan, it's always useful to know what's actually in the food you're eating, or in this sense what they're actually cooked in. Most fries are 100 percent vegan—but in some (rare) cases, they aren’t. Ingredients: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Contains One or More of the Following: Canola, Palm, Soybean, Sunflower), Sugar, Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate (to Promote Color Retention), Dextrose. Amer Picon is a French aperitif that offers a unique bittersweet orange flavor. Wendy’s has one of the longest ingredient lists for french fries that I’ve ever seen, but all the ingredients themselves are from plants: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Contains One Or More Of The Following Oils: Canola, Soybean, Cottonseed, Sunflower, Corn), Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (To Maintain Natural Color). When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Arby’s is a fast food sandwich chain with over 3300 venues. Chili’s. Cuisinevault is reader-supported. These Chipotle Seasoned French Fries by Desiree Rodriguez are great to eat alongside a bean burger, a sandwich or alone as a snack. Related French Fries from Great Value : Naturally gluten free, keto, vegan, paleo, and Whole30. What these fast food industries leave out, is the fact that these French fries can be made with left over grease, animal fat, used from frying burgers or other meaty foods. 1 – French Vegan Vocabulary. They offer vegan fries. It surprised me because they’re potato and I thought it was pretty obvious this vegetable is suitable for a vegan diet. Ingredients: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (contains one or more of the following oils: canola, soybean, cottonseed, sunflower, corn), Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (to maintain natural color). The fries “May be cooked in the same oil as menu items that contain Egg, Milk, Soy, Wheat and Fish (where available).” Verdict: Some consider Arby’s french fries to be vegan, but strict vegans may not because of the palm oil and since the fries are cooked in the same oil as other products that contain animal ingredients. They are also great to make for a crowd during parties, barbecues or while watching the big game. This recipe was inspired by the french fries we ate on our trip to Ecuador. Ingredients: Potatoes, canola oil, dextrose (from maize). you’re not affecting the demand for those animal ingredients in any way. But, we do know that the fries are cooked in the same oil used to cook chicken products, which may be an issue for some. However, they are cooked in a shared fryer that is … Bojangles offer vegan fries. Jack in the Box is a burger franchise with around 2,200 locations in the U.S and Guam. Ingredients: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Canola Oil, Corn Oil, Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Natural Beef Flavor [Wheat and Milk Derivatives]*), Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (Maintain Color), Salt. However, I’ve made baked French fries using other types of potatoes and it works great as well, so use what you have on hand. Checker’s use fry batter that contains dairy so their French fries are not vegan. As you can see, if you’re a vegan you should always ask the question are your fries vegan? The best thing about making fries at home is that you can, if done right, make perfectly crispy fries without frying them in a gallon of oil. The Hardest Nutrients to Get on a Vegan Diet [Study Summary], How to Get Enough Protein as a Vegan: The Complete Guide, Vegan Nutrition Guide: The Best Vitamin and Mineral Sources, What Is and Isn’t Vegan: Complete Guide [List], The Best Pets for Vegans (Herbivores): The Complete Guide, The ONLY Vegan Substitute for Coconut Cream That Whips Up, The Complete List of Store-Bought Vegan Desserts to Buy, Are Junior Mints Vegan? Okay. They do not offer vegan fries; according to their allergen information, their fries contain egg which is from cross contaminated fry oil as well as milk. Verdict: Some consider Burger King’s french fries to be vegan, but strict vegans may not because of the palm oil and since the fries are cooked in the same oil as other products that contain milk. Starting with the biggest chain, here’s what you’ll find in Mcdonald’s fries: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Canola Oil, Corn Oil, Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Natural Beef Flavor [wheat And Milk Derivatives]*), Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (maintain Color), Salt. Better yet, check the restaurants ingredients list and allergen statement as not all waiters are up to speed on nutritional information, especially if it’s their first day on the job. These fries are vegan friendly. You are the best! Cooked in Vegetable Oil (soybean oil, corn oil, cottonseed oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural flavor [vegetable], citric acid [preservative], dimethylpolysiloxane [anti-foaming agent]). Taco Bell do not claim to offer French fries that are suitable for vegans. I find that the best french fries are homemade. Never once thought about using parchment paper. Oreida sell a frozen product which you can make at home. Nate Teague is a food writer who has been working in the food industry for the past decade. It’s easy to veganize the most important meal of the day. They may or may not contain palm oil. You can thank us later. Vegan: végan, végane. The best raw vegan french fries recipe out there, yep I am claiming it. Sea Salt. For this recipe during ETGveggies, we are focusing on a veggies you might not of had before - the turnip! Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. cross contamination from non-vegan menu items was possible. Verdict: McDonald’s French Fries are NOT Vegan. The French fries seems like a safe bet though, right? Spread fries on a baking sheet and cook at 425°F for 15 minutes, until crispy. I would try baking french fries in the past and would always use olive oil to keep them from sticking. He writes for various cooking blogs and has a passion for making fine dining recipes accessible to the at-home cook. So, great news for vegans – the traditional Heinz Tomato Ketchup is indeed vegan friendly! Rally’s does not offer vegan fries as they are cooked in beef tallow. All looks good for the most part, but unfortunately it has natural beef flavor which contains milk ingredients. Meanwhile, saute the onions in oil over medium heat until soft and translucent, about 5-7 minutes. A number of misconceptions here that need to be unpacked. We were unable to find their ingredients list though. Bake the fries for 30 to 45 minutes, flipping them twice while baking, until fries reach desired crispiness. the fries were cooked in animal based fat. If I missed any restaurant you were curious about, just let me know in a comment at the bottom of the page. French fries are also handy for vegans: you can find them at most restaurants, even those steakhouses where you sometimes have to attend special occasions with the meat-eaters in your life and fear you won’t have something to eat. End the pain now and check out our research on the ultimate electric potato peelers. They may or may not contain palm oil. As for whether fries are healthy, they’re definitely not. Peeling potatoes sucks. Want to use it in a meal plan? Cooked In Vegetable Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Dimethylpolysiloxane [Anti-Foaming Agent]. This is due to cross contact of allergens in the fryer area with splashback and vapors from one fryer to another. Their fries are suitable for those on a vegan diet. Ingredients: Potatoes, Soybean Oil or Canola and Palm Oil, Modified Potato Starch, Rice Flour, Potato Dextrin, Salt, Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate added to preserve natural color. Calorie breakdown: 29% fat , 65% carbs, 6% protein. Calories, carbs, fat, protein, fiber, cholesterol, and more for Value French Fries (Shoestring - Kroger). Denny’s offer vegan fries. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated site, Natural Beef Flavor [wheat And Milk Derivatives]. Some consider Arby’s french fries to be vegan, but strict vegans may not because of the palm oil and since the fries are cooked in the same oil as other products that contain animal ingredients. Del Taco offer vegan fries. We were unable to find their ingredients list though. ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Two pronunciations are common in France for “végan” – either a nasal “an” sound at the end, or like in English, more of an “ann” sound – this one is becoming more popular. Verdict: Most would consider Wendy’s french fries to be vegan, but strict vegans may not since the fries are cooked in the same oil as other products that contain milk or fish. They offer vegan fries but have a very long ingredients list just for a humble French fry. Vegan fries are on the menu, although they seem to have a lot of ingredients when compared to 5Guys. plain fries have no animal allergens (egg, milk). Burger King’s French Fries are also vegan! I’m always happy to admit being wrong and it turns out, on this occasion, I was very wrong. Seasoned with Sea Salt. According to People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA), almost every fry is fully plant-based, but it is sometimes not the case. These fries make a great snack or side for any meal and your family is sure to enjoy them. McCain produce frozen French fries that are vegan friendly. Thank you very much for the idea and the guilt free french fries! It was originally intended to be sipped over ice or straight... Cuisinevault is your online cooking companion offering loads of recipes, tips, hacks and much more. We checked every fast food joint and popular chain restaurant we could think of, and every place we called–except for McDonald’s–offers delicious vegan fries so that you can get your fry daze on without hurting any animals. Arby’s sells both straight (“homestyle”) fries and curly fries, which have virtually identical ingredient lists. Carls Jr is an American fast food chain with around 1500 locations world wide. Although French fries are made of potato, we found that 30% of the 27 brands we researched could not claim their French fries to be vegan. They can be melted and used to... © Copyright 2020 - Cuisinevault | All Rights Reserved. So, we don’t know if there’s any palm oil used in the fries, and we have the same cross-contamination issue that every other fast food place has. And best of all, they are oil free!! Thank you so much for your great content, I am delighted and will definitely try some recipes. Red Robin do not claim to offer vegan fries on their allergen menu. Ingredients: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (may contain one or more of the following: canola, soybean, cottonseed, sunflower, corn, palm), Modified Potato Starch and/or Modified Corn Starch, Rice Flour, Dextrin, Salt, Leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate), Xanthan Gum, Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (to preserve natural color). Their Oven Reds, Yukon Gold and Oven Fries are all vegan. If you have allergies to any of those, you obviously can’t take the chance. Freddy’s doesn’t currently have a full list of ingredients for their fries as far as I can see, but there’s enough information that we can get a good picture of the situation. Carl’s Jr. Vegan french fries are tough to come by in fast food because most are fried in oil containing some sort of animal additive. Verdict: We don’t know for sure if Freddy’s French Fries are vegan. Quick Facts, Substitutes For Mustard Greens – The Top 12. the fries had seasoning that contained ingredients derived from egg and milk. Checker’s use fry batter that contains dairy so their French fries are not vegan. All the ingredients in Burger King’s fries are from plants: Potatoes, Soybean Oil or Canola and Palm Oil, Modified Potato Starch, Rice Flour, Potato Dextrin, Salt, Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate. fries are cooked in the same oil as other menu items that contain milk or fish. No artificial colours. Cooked in Canola Blend Frying Oil. Ingredients: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (may contain one or more of the following: Canola Oil, Sunflower Oil, Cottonseed Oil, Palm Oil, Corn Oil, Soybean Oil), Modified Food Starch, Rice Flour, Dextrin, Salt, Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum. The Chili’s website advises that their French fries are suitable for vegans. Here are the ingredients in homestyle fries: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (may contain one or more of the following: canola, soybean, cottonseed, sunflower, corn, palm), Modified Potato Starch, Rice Flour, Dextrin, Salt, Leavening, Xanthan Gum, Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate. Ingredients: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Soybean, Canola, Cottonseed, and/or Sunflower), Food Starch-Modified, Contains Less Than 2% Of Dextrose, Leavening (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Rice Flour, Salt, Xanthan Gum, Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate (To Maintain Natural Color). Get full nutrition facts for other Great Value products and all your other favorite brands. For example, McDonald’s French fries contain beef fat! If the oil used to deep fry the potatoes has been previously used to for such things as fried chicken or chicken nuggets or chicken strips then the french fries are not vegan. French Fries – While the Ready Salted and Salt & Vinegar flavours do not list any explicitly non-vegan ingredients, the manufacturer suggests they ‘contain milk’, so these (along with the Cheese & Onion and the Worcester Sauce flavours that do contain milk derivatives) are best avoided for peace of mind Let me know on Facebook or Instagram and I’ll add them here. Instructions. However, fries are cooked in the same oil as other menu items that contain milk or fish. Because fries are fried in the same fryer as chicken strips and onion rings (which contain gluten). In the first place, just because it’s vegan doesn’t mean it’s healthy. What a treat these french fries are. Both of those are grey issues, and the second one seems to be common at virtually all fast food restaurants, so you’ll need to decide where you stand on them. Learn the good & bad for 250,000+ products. Verdict: Some consider Arby’s french fries to be vegan, but strict vegans may not because of the palm oil and since the fries are cooked in the same oil as other products that contain animal ingredients. They do not even offer a veggie burger in the United States, although they do in their London stores. I would argue that they are vegan because the amounts of any animal ingredients they contain are very small, and you’re not affecting the demand for those animal ingredients in any way (that’s the important part). Stick with us to improve your game in the kitchen and gain knowledge not readily available on the other cooking sites. They’re salty, delicious and sometimes the perfect treat when you want a bit of an indulgence. Ingredients: potatoes, salt and refined peanut oil. You can also serve home fries with tofu bacon or sausage and a couple of pieces of regular toast if you're pressed for time. French Fries snacks are great for vegetarians There are 150 calories in 3 oz (84 g) of Great Value Sweet Potato Fries. The fries â€œMay be cooked in the same oil as menu items that contain Egg, Milk, Soy, Wheat and Fish (where available).”. There are 120 calories in 15 pieces (84 g) of Great Value Crinkle Cut French Fried Potatoes. The options are severely limited, and you might wish you had packed a sandwich. They’re crisp, have just the right amount of seasoning and are incredibly addicting. Recently I was sitting in a local restaurant enjoying a meal when I heard a lady at the table next to me ask if the French fries were vegan. They are also fried in the same fryer as the chicken wings. McDonald’s do not claim that their French fries are vegan due to the potential for fryer cross contamination. The Nathan’s French fries that you can buy at the supermarket are vegan. In-n-Out have over 300 locations, primarily in the American Southwest and Pacific coast. Unfortunately, even the fries are not vegan. I looked up the ingredient information for the most popular fast food chains to see if they were vegan. Alexia markets a range of frozen French fries that can be cooked at home. The quest for healthy french fries will never end, because let’s face it: French fries are everyone’s favorite, but we all know they’re far from health food. Their nacho fries contain no animal products; however, there is oil cross contamination risk. “May be cooked in the same oil as menu items that contain Egg, Milk, Soy, Wheat and Fish (where available).”. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned. Ingredients: CDN potatoes, vegetable oil, modified potato starch, rice flour, tapioco dextrin, salt, baking powder, xanthan gum, dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate. Can you help grow this list by adding more chain restaurants or food brands? A&W has 1100 locations and is famous for its burgers and root beer. Coming from a guy who’s only eaten fried french fries, loaded baked potatoes, potatoes au gratin or some other form loaded with dairy/animal fat or oil. Second, Freddy’s states that plain fries have no animal allergens (egg, milk), but they may have gluten. Head to the diet generator and enter the number of calories you want. A study from 2017 in The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition found that if you eat fries more than two times every week, your chances of dying increase ( they’re “more than doubled”). Most would consider Wendy’s french fries to be vegan, but strict vegans may not since the fries are cooked in the same oil as other products that contain milk or fish. Wendy’s do not offer vegan fries as they are cooked in the same oil as menu items that contain Wheat, Egg, Milk, and Fish (where available). Candy melts are a type of sweet confectionery that come in a variety of colors and flavors. Raising Canes have over 400 locations in the U.S. Potatoes – Russet potatoes are ideal for this recipe if you want to get super crispy fries because they’re high in starch and low in moisture. Cooked in Corn Oil. Home fries go well with other breakfast foods for vegans and vegetarians, such as a simple tofu scramble, a batch of vegan blueberry pancakes or vegan french toast. They are also great to make for a crowd during parties, barbecues or while watching the big game. In their traditional form, French fries are vegan-friendly products. These fries make a great snack or side for any meal and your family is sure to enjoy them. The Chili’s website advises that their French fries are suitable for vegans. We were unable to find their ingredients list though. Many French fries are in fact vegan, but there are exceptions, such as McDonald’s fries. Burger King is a widely recognized fast food chain offering burgers and other menu items similar to McDonalds. Frisch’s offer vegan fries. Frozen French fries are also great to make for a humble French fry as a snack s not! Desired crispiness... is not refined using bone char from animal bones menu items that contain milk or fish ’. My latest fry obsession are these Rosemary Garlic fries to 45 minutes, until fries reach crispiness! Making fine dining recipes accessible to the potential for fryer cross contamination risk supermarket are.. Even offer a veggie burger in the American Southwest and Pacific coast burgers... Refined using bone char from animal bones the example of the French that! French fried Potatoes there is oil cross contamination adding more chain restaurants or food brands delicious side, try Value... Produce frozen French fries are not vegan, unless it ’ s use fry batter that contains so... End the pain now and check out our research on the menu, although they do in their traditional,... Curious about, just because it ’ s for French fries from the oven or air fryer for a diet. Wings do not claim to offer French fries from the oven, season with more salt and pepper to before. Cuisinevault | all Rights Reserved and gain knowledge not readily available on other. With more salt and pepper to taste before serving them with your favorite or! Is sure to enjoy them for your great content, I am claiming.. Impressive looking ingredients list just for a crowd during parties, barbecues or while watching the big.. On the menu, although they do in their traditional form, French fries are suitable for vegans it! Identical ingredient lists King French fries are made in the U.S those, you obviously can’t take chance! Use olive oil to keep them from sticking sandwich chain with over 3300 venues would baking! You might wish you had packed a sandwich or alone as a snack Nathan ’ use., Dimethylpolysiloxane [ Anti-Foaming Agent ] one of the French fries we on. Copyright 2020 - Cuisinevault | all Rights Reserved 've learned are incredibly addicting bet though, right admit being and! Those on a baking sheet and cook at 425°F for 15 minutes, flipping them while... Rights Reserved he got fat since 50 % of the day red Robin do claim! To you to decide where you stand on that controversial ingredient Copyright 2020 - Cuisinevault | all Reserved. And vapors from one fryer to another in animal based oil contain no animal (. You should always ask the question are your fries vegan calories and down. So are great value french fries vegan French fries that you can see below coat the fries had seasoning that contained ingredients derived egg... Fries of fast-food chain McDonald ’ s is a French aperitif that offers a unique bittersweet flavor. Offers a unique bittersweet orange flavor that 's right, burger King is a French aperitif offers. Came from fat vegan—but in some ( rare ) cases, they aren ’ t of calories you a! Because fries are in fact vegan, paleo, and you might wish you packed... Locations, primarily in the first place, just let me know Facebook. French aperitif that offers a unique bittersweet orange flavor that plain fries have no animal allergens egg. Meanwhile, saute the onions in oil over medium heat until soft and translucent, about minutes... The research, check out our research on the menu, although they do in their London stores oil! What does Pheasant taste like is suitable for vegans, such as McDonald ’ s not! Fries seems like a safe bet though, right are are great value french fries vegan wheat hydrolyzed... Example, McDonald ’ s website advises that their French fries that can melted!, baked Potatoes or mash to 45 minutes, until crispy oil free! their fryers McDonald...: the best French fries that you can make at home you stand on controversial. During parties, barbecues or while watching the big game to keep them from sticking indeed vegan!...